Home Site Map About Us Privacy Policy Advertise (pdf) Contact Us
 
 
sitesearch

Help Menu > Data > Time Zones
Help A - Z > T - Z > Time Zones

Coping with Different Time Zones

Sydney, Australia

The Australian Stock Exchange opens at 10:00 a.m. and closes at 4:06 p.m. AEST.
AEST (Sydney) is GMT plus 10 hours.

Daylight Saving

During summer the ASX moves to AEDT – one hour forward. AEDT is GMT plus 11 hours and runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April.

New York

The NYSE/Nasdaq opens at 9:30 a.m. and closes at 4:00 p.m. EST.
EST is GMT minus 5 hours.

Daylight Saving

During summer the NYSE/NASDAQ move to EDT – one hour forward. EDT is GMT minus 4 hours and runs from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.

How This Affects You

NYSE/NASDAQ: ASX:
Opens Closes Opens Closes
First Sunday in October to first Sunday in November
New York time GMT-4 9.30 a.m. 4.00 p.m. 7.00 p.m. 1.00 a.m.
Sydney time GMT+11 12.30 a.m. 7.00 a.m. 10.00 a.m. 4.00 p.m.
First Sunday in November to the second Sunday in March
New York time GMT-5 9.30 a.m. 4.00 p.m. 6:00 p.m. 12:00 a.m.
Sydney time GMT+11 1:30 a.m. 8:00 a.m. 10.00 a.m. 4.00 p.m.
Second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in April
New York time GMT-4 9.30 a.m. 4.00 p.m. 7.00 p.m. 1.00 a.m.
Sydney time GMT+11 12.30 a.m. 7.00 a.m. 10.00 a.m. 4.00 p.m.
First Sunday in April to the first Sunday in October
New York time GMT-4 9.30 a.m. 4.00 p.m. 8:00 p.m. 2:00 a.m.
Sydney time GMT+10 11:30 p.m. 6:00 a.m. 10.00 a.m. 4.00 p.m.






 
Top of Page